OUTWOOD IN SURREY "The Village with the Mill"
The society was formed in 1991 and is based on a working group, listed below.
Our Aim is to investigate, record and foster an interest in the history of Outwood, including its development from the earliest times up to the present day, with a particular emphasis on social history.
So far we have published two volumes of A History of Outwood.
Volume 1, with a foreword by Dame Judi Dench and the late Michael Williams, includes chapters on Geology and Early History; Religion; Harewoods House and the Lloyd family and Lord JohnSangers Circus.
Volume 2, includes chapters entitled The Changing Face of Outwood; The Two Windmills; Farms & Farming Families; Village Schools and cricket up to 1914.
Both volumes are available from local shops.
The books are priced at £5.00 each
For further information please contact: Chris Davison
Research into our local history continues and we would welcome any information, recollections,copies of documents and photographs from villagers past and present, or indeed anyone with a interest in this fascinating village of Outwood.
We are also contributing to the Village History Page